Puhoi Community Forum 2017 Agm Minutes Meeting Held On June 27 2017 at 7.30pm in the Puhoi Sports Club


Meeting held on June 27 2017 at 7.30pm in the Puhoi Sports Club


Paul Manton (Chair), Dustyn O’Leary (Co-Chair) Jenny Schollum (Treasurer), Terri Ryder, Sheryll Titford, Brian Titford, Sandra Beagley, Tessa Berger, Kristin Gillies, Val Smith, Ian Boothroyd, Johan Rijnbinde. Gavin Donaldson, Sorrel O’Leary, Judith Williams, Larry Mitchell, Pat Backley, Heston Prospere-Smith Wendy Hayton (Secretary, Minutes)


Beth Houlbrooke, Alison Roe, Martin Smith, Mike Swain, Jenny Neel, Margaret Nelson


Paul Manton, as Chair, welcomed attendees to the meeting.

  1. Approval of AGM Minutes held on 28 June 2016

The Minutes of the last AGM, held on 28 June 2016 were confirmed and accepted.

Moved: Gavin Donaldson

Seconded Terri Ryder


  1. Chair’s Report for year 2016-2017

Two annual reports were presented, one by each Chair, Paul Manton and Dustyn O’Leary. They will be circulated with the minutes.

The Puhoi Community Forum’s activities over the last year included the following major community projects:

  • Puhoi Pioneers Memorial Park; Stage 2 of the River Park Walkway.

  • Shared Pathway Development: Gillian Seymour’s Pathway Stage.

  • Greenways Development – Working with the Council Greenways Team, NZTA and the Rodeny Local Board to develop safer walking, sycling and horse riding routes throughout the village and wider area.

  • Puhoi to Warkworth Motorway liaison with NX2

The Chairs’ reports were accepted.

Moved: Dustyn

Seconded: Sorrel O’Leary


  1. Financial Report for year March 2016-2017

Jenny Schollum spoke to her previously circulated, comprehensive financial report for the financial year ended 31 March 2017. The accounts have been audited.

As auditor Larry Mitchell also spoke to the accounts and paid tribute to Jenny for her excellent work as Treasurer. He noted that the grant received from Auckland Council for Park improvements has a deadline of 30 September 2017. He has audited the accounts on the basis that this grant will be completely spent by this deadline date. He was assured that this would be the case. This grant is for

planting and walkway, posts, fencing etc. Planting must take place this season. We have a quote for 2000 plants. Dustyn will organise a species list. Hopefully can get them all planted on one weekend with volunteers to be organised.

This year Kevin Jones farmer will be paying the Forum as lessor, $3025 for the lease which can only be spent on the Puhoi Pioneer’s Memorial Park. This money can only be spent on matters pertaining to the upkeep of the Park and can be spent on the wetlands area, planting, fencing etc.

A letter of appreciation to be sent by Paul Manton to thank Kevin Jones for the good job he is doing with the farm lease.

Paul stated that the lease is publicly available – a lease to operate parkland. The Forum has applied for a new lease. Upon approval, the lease will be available for viewing should anyone wish. There are plans to apply for more grants from various sources for this and new projects when do reserve management review.

The Trivial Pursuits evenings are another small source of income.

The Treasurer’s report was accepted.

Moved: Ian Boothroyd

Seconded: Judith Williams


  1. Correspondence

A letter appointing Sandra Beagley as representative for the year to the Forum on behalf of the Puhoi Town Library had been received.

  1. Acceptance of Club and Group Representatives

The following were elected:

Puhoi Rural Fire Force – Russell Green

Puhoi Historical Society – Sheryll Titford

Puhoi Library – Sandra Beagley

Puhoi Farmers Market – Judith Williams

Puhoi Centennial Hall Committee – Val Smith (main contact)

Puhoi Church Properties Committee – Bernadette Straka

Puhoi Sports Club – Ian Boothroyd

Puhoi Pioneers Memorial Park – Puhoi Forum

Puhoi Horse Riding Group – Paul Manton

Puhoi Public Space Development and Road Safety Group – Terri Ryder (main contact)

Puhoi Pest Control Group – Bill Marcroft

Puhoi Eco System Group – Sorrel O’Leary

Puhoi Civil Defence – Heston Prospere- Smith

Neighbourhood Support – Judith Williams

Waiwera Valley Association – Brian Titford

The Club/Group Representatives for 2017-2018 were accepted.

Moved: Terri Ryder

Seconded: Paul Manton


Pest Control – It was agreed that a cohesive approach is essential. Ian Boothroyd volunteered to coordinate this – to be brought up for discussion at the next ordinary business meeting.

  1. Election of Officers

Approval of Co-Chairs

Kristin Gillies took over as Chair during the election.

Nominations were for:

Dustyn O’Leary, Co-Chair

Moved: Judith Williams

Seconded: Jenny Schollum


Paul Manton, Co-Chair

Moved: Judith Williams

Seconded: Jenny Schollum


Dustyn and Paul took back the Chair from Kristin Gillies.

Approval of Deputy Chair

Terri Ryder was nominated.

Moved: Dustyn O’Leary

Seconded: Paul Manton


Approval of Secretary

Wendy Hayton, moved Judith Williams, seconded Dustyn O’Leary

Moved: Judith Williams

Seconded: Dustyn O’Leary


Approval of Treasurer

Jenny Schollum, moved Wendy Hayton, seconded Sheryll Titford

Moved: Wendy Hayton

Seconded: Sheryll Titford


The meeting closed: 8.20pm

Signed: ………………………………………………………………………………………