Fire Season Update

For your information, the fire season for the Auckland mainland is changing on Monday 10 January 2022 at 08:00.

The Auckland Region will be operating in two different zones:

  • The Auckland mainland is changing to a Restricted Fire Season – Fire by permit only, from Monday 10 January 2022
  • All the islands of the Hauraki Gulf are in a Prohibited Fire Season – Total Fire Ban, since Wednesday 1 December 2021.

All permits enquiries need to go through our website,, if property owner apply for the same burn as the previous year with the same conditions, they can apply for a renewal.