Fire Season Change

The fire season for the Auckland region is changing tomorrow Wednesday, 7 April 2021 at 0800am.

The Auckland Region will be operating in three different zones:

  • The mainland will be in an Open Fire Season
  • Hauraki Gulf Islands – For Waiheke, Great Barrier, Rakino, Kawau & Ponui Islands will be in a Restricted Fire Season [Fire by permit only].
  • All other islands of the Hauraki Gulf will remain in a Prohibited Fire Season [Total Fire Ban]

All permit enquiries need to go through our website,   

If you have any questions, please contact us on 0800 658 628 or email

For further information please visit our website

Kind Regards,

Sandy Dubey

Auckland Rural – Te Hiku

0800 658 628

        Follow our Facebook page to keep up to date

For fire season and permit information check our website